Asom Gana Parishad (AGP) leader Satyabrata Kalita on Sunday took a jibe at the Congress party saying it would be in Congress’ best interest to shift their focus from planning for the 2024 election to planning for the 2029 election.
In Assam, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has formed an alliance with the Asom Gana Parishad (AGP) and the United People’s Party Liberal (UPPL) for the 2024 Lok Sabha elections.
Kalita went on to mock the Congress party, stating that the 2024 election is already a one-sided affair, with Modi set to become the Prime Minister for a third straight term.
“The 2024 election is a one-sided election. Modi will become the Prime Minister, the citizens of India have made up their minds. Perhaps it would be beneficial for Congress to abandon planning for 2024 and start planning for 2029,” he said.
He further claimed that the Congress party no longer holds any influence in Assam, the northeastern region, or anywhere else in India.
“Look, where is Congress? It’s not in Assam, it’s not in the northeast, it’s finished all over India. It has no leader, it has no followers; and day by day, the (Congress party) is deteriorating. The entire election has become one-sided,” he said.

Kalita confidently predicted that the BJP alliance would win all 14 Lok Sabha seats in Assam.
“We are going to win both the seats, Dhubri and Barpeta, of lower Assam. The BJP alliance will secure all 14 seats of Assam. There might be some competition for two or three seats. We believe that the results on June 4 will be in our favour,” Kalita told ANI.
The Lok Sabha elections in Assam are being conducted in three phases. The first phase of the election concluded on April 19.
In the first phase, 75.95 per cent of voters in the five parliamentary constituencies of Assam – Sonitpur, Lakhimpur, Kaziranga, Dibrugarh and Jorhat, came out to exercise their franchise.
The second phase of polls in five Lok Sabha seats in Assam for Silchar, Karimganj, Diphu, Nagaon and Darrang-Udalguri will be held on April 26.
Voting for Kokrajhar, Dhubri, Barpeta and Guwahati will be held on May 7 in the third phase of voting.
The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has established a strong presence in Assam. In the 2014 Lok Sabha elections, the BJP won 7 out of the 14 seats in the state. The Congress and the All India United Democratic Front (AIUDF) each secured three seats. However, in the 2019 elections, the BJP expanded its reach by winning 9 seats, while the Congress held onto its three seats, and the AIUDF was reduced to just one seat. (ANI)