Lok Janshakti Party (LJP) (Ram Vilas) Chief Chirag Paswan assumed charge as Minister of Food Processing Industries on Tuesday.
He was accompanied by his mother and other family members.
Paswan, a leader from Bihar, was among the many first-timers to take the oath of office in PM Modi’s Cabinet.
Speaking to reporters, Chirag Paswan said, “PM Modi has given the responsibility of Food Processing Ministry and I will work hard for this. The future is for food processing and there is unlimited scope in this. In the coming times, India’s involvement in this department will increase. Growth in this department will help increase the farmers’ income as well…PM Modi also said that we have to take this department to new heights…”
Earlier on Monday, Paswan affirmed that he will fulfil whatever responsibility is given to him by PM Modi.

“I will fulfil whatever responsibility has been given to me by the Prime Minister and I have been given the responsibility of a department, which I had also mentioned in my vision document… Ours is an agricultural country, so it is very important that the processing, packaging and marketing of what the farmers produce is good… This will not only provide employment opportunities in large numbers in the country, but the future belongs to this department…”, Paswan said while speaking to.

“Today is the time of processing; I think it has a huge scope in India and it will contribute greatly to the development of the country,” he added.
On Sunday, the LJP (Ram Vilas) Chief was sworn in as a cabinet minister under the third term of the Modi government.
In the 2024 Lok Sabha election, Chirag Paswan won from the Hajipur Lok Sabha constituency.
In the 2014 elections, Chirag Paswan contested from the Jamui Lok Sabha seat. He won the seat, defeating the nearest rival, Sudhansu Shekhar Bhaskar of Rashtriya Janata Dal. Paswan retained his seat in the 2019 elections, defeating his nearest rival, Bhudeo Choudhary.
In the 2024 general election, a total of five LJP (Ram Vilas) MPs won the Lok Sabha elections in Bihar: Veena Devi, Arun Bharti, Shambhavi Choudhary, Rajesh Verma and Chirag Paswan. (ANI)