The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has intensified its preparations for the upcoming Lok Sabha elections in Assam as leaders started their poll campaigning across the state.
Speaking about the party’s preparation for the first, second and third phases of nominations, BJP’s Rajya Sabha member Pabitra Margherita said, “In the first phase, we have five seats and our leaders have already started their campaigning and we are very optimistic…NDA and the people of Assam are with Prime Minister Modi.”
“People can feel why Prime Minister Narendra Modi considers Assam to be the growth engine of modern India. More than 50 times he has visited Assam. In every segment, we have seen progress, development, peace and harmony. People are with us…,” Margherita told ANI on Friday.
On Thursday, Assam BJP leader Kamakhya Prasad Tasa filed his nomination papers for the Lok Sabha polls. Tasa is contesting from the Kaziranga constituency. On his nomination, Assam Chief Minister Himanta Biswa Sarma said that the party will win with a margin of 3 lakh votes.

“Kamakhya Prasad Tasa has filed the nominations for Lok Sabha polls. A large number of people have come here to bless him. We will win with a margin of 3 lakh votes,” Himanta Biswa Sarma said.
There are a total of 14 parliamentary constituencies in Assam. Elections for the 14 Lok Sabha constituencies in Assam will take place in three phases on April 19, April 26 and May 7.
The election for 543 Lok Sabha seats in the country will be held in seven phases starting April 19. Nearly 97 crore voters are eligible to cast votes in the 2024 general election. The counting of votes will take place on June 4.
In the Lok Sabha elections of 2014, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) secured 7 of the 14 seats in Assam. Both the Congress and the All India United Democratic Front (AIUDF) claimed three seats each.
During the 2019 elections, the BJP increased its seat count to 9, while the Congress maintained its three seats, and the AIUDF won a single seat. The BJP also bagged an impressive vote share of 36.4 per cent while the Congress received 35.8 per cent of the votes. (ANI)