After the NDA government led by Chief Minister Nitish Kumar won the Bihar floor test, JD-U MLA Leshi Singh took a jibe at opposition leaders by reminding them of their “khela hoga” slogans and said that the opposition did not have the numbers.
The NDA government led by Chief Minister Nitish Kumar on Monday won the Bihar floor test after it secured the support of 129 MLAs who voted in favour of the NDA alliance.
“The Opposition did not have the numbers…The Opposition leaders had given a slogan “khela hoga” but they couldn’t play and failed,” JDU MLA Leshi Singh said on Monday.
The vote of confidence took place amid a walkout staged by the Opposition as cross-voting happened when three Rashtriya Janata Dal MLAs also voted in support of Nitish Kumar.
Meanwhile, JDU MLA Shalini Mishra said, “I had been saying this that ‘khela’ will be done by us. We were sure of the complete majority so the NDA alliance was assured…”
The coalition government won the floor test with a 129 majority.
The Deputy Speaker of the Bihar Legislative Assembly Maheshwar Hazari asked the members of the House who were in favour of the motion to stand at their places.

“(A total of) 129 votes have been received in favour of the motion. There were zero votes against the motion. Thus, this House passes the trust vote,” the Deputy Speaker said on Monday.
Three Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) MLAs -Chetan Anand, Neelam Devi, and Prahlad Yadav went and joined the National Democratic Alliance (NDA) in the State Assembly.
On three RJD MLAs moving to the NDA side, RJD leader Bhai Virendra said that the public will not make them MLAs again.
While addressing the Assembly, Nitish Kumar took a swipe at his former Mahagathbandhan ally Rashtriya Janata Dal and said that the latter indulged in “corrupt practices” during its rule in the eastern state.
He also said that the current NDA government would initiate a probe into these practices.
Earlier, the Bihar assembly passed the no-confidence motion against Bihar Assembly Speaker and Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) leader Awadh Bihari Choudhary ahead of the floor test of the Nitish Kumar government to prove its majority.
Nitish Kumar had reportedly gone into a sulk after not being named the convenor of INDIA, the Opposition bloc that took shape through his efforts. He resigned as chief minister on January 28, his second volte face in less than 18 months.
The JD(U) has 45 MLAs in the House of 243 while its partners, the BJP and the Hindustani Awam Morcha-Secular (HAM-S), have 79 and four legislators respectively. The NDA has the support of 128 MLAs and the majority mark in the state assembly is 122. (ANI)