Leader of Opposition of Madhya Pradesh assembly, Umang Singhar on Wednesday took a jibe at Union Minister Jyotiraditya Scindia saying he is Singhar not Scindia.
Singhar made the remark while speaking to reporters in Indore when questioned about joining Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP).
“They (BJP) keep contacting every day. They have been doing so for many years. I did not go even when the government was toppled in 2020 and various kinds of temptations were offered. I am Umang Singhar, not Scindia. Various BJP people tried to contact right from Bhopal to Delhi,” he said.
Notably, a political upheaval rocked the state in 2020 after the then-Congressman Jyotiraditya Scindia, along with 22 loyalist MLAs, switched over to the BJP camp.
Following which, the Congress government led by Kamal Nath that had come to power in 2018 after a long wait of 15-years collapsed after being reduced to a minority and the BJP formed the government in the state. The BJP brought Scindia into Parliament via the Rajya Sabha and made him a Union minister.

Besides, when asked about state cabinet minister Govind Singh claiming Congress Chief Jitu Patwari will also join BJP, Singhar said that Patwari is not going anywhere.
“Jitu Patwari is state Congress chief and he is not going anywhere. I don’t think he has talked to anyone,” Singhar added.
State Minister Govind Singh Rajput on Tuesday said, “This is the first time I’m seeing that Lok Sabha candidates are withdrawing their names, and some are even leaving Congress. Jitendra (Jitu) Patwari was the one who nominated a candidate of his choice from Indore, and now when that candidate has withdrawn his candidature, Jitendra (Jitu) Patwari says he has been poached. Lakhs of Congress leaders are joining the BJP across the country. And if this continues, by May 7, Jitu Patwari will also join BJP.”
Lok Sabha polls in Madhya Pradesh are being conducted in four phases. The first phase of polling was held on April 19 and the second phase was concluded on April 26.
The next two phases will be conducted on May 7 and May 13. The counting of votes will be held on June 4. (ANI)