Chief Justice of Jammu and Kashmir and Ladakh High Court, N Koteshwar Singh, graced the celebration of Constitution Day at the University of Jammu in collaboration with Adhivakta Parishad Jammu-Kashmir and Ladakh.
The event focused on the theme “Bhartiya Values and the Constitution.”
Addressing the gathering, Justice Singh highlighted the historical significance of the original Indian Constitution, which was handwritten and adorned with carefully considered illustrations.
The depictions included symbols like Dharmachakra, Nataraj, Rani Lakshmi Bai, and scenes depicting various riots and exoduses.
Emphasizing the indigenous nature of the Indian Constitution, Justice Singh stated, “The Indian constitution is not the assimilation of foreign ideas; even though the words were foreign, the values of the Indian Constitution are very much Indian.”

He underscored the foundational principles embedded in the Constitution, such as justice based on “Satyamev Jayate,” fraternity reflecting “Vasudev Kutumbhkam,” and equality grounded in the principle that “no one is inferior, all are equal marching towards prosperity.”
Justice Singh also cited historical instances, such as Hindu kings providing shelter to Jews and Parsis, as evidence that the concept of secularism was deeply rooted in the Indian subcontinent.
Umesh Rai, Vice-Chancellor of the University of Jammu, served as the Guest of Honour and spoke about Bhartiya values enshrined in the preamble of the Indian Constitution.
He emphasized the concept of “dharma,” signifying responsibility and righteousness, particularly highlighting the responsibilities of teachers towards institutions and students. Rai also shared initiatives like “College on Wheels” and “design your degree” that empower students to choose subjects of their interest.
The Guest of Honour, DC Raina, Advocate General of UT of J&K, traced the historical journey of the constitution, from its demand on January 26, 1930, to its enforcement. Advocate Vikas Sharma, President of Adhivakta Parishad, Jammu, Kashmir, and Ladakh, provided an introduction to the event.
The proceedings were conducted by Advocate Rohan Nanda, and the vote of thanks was delivered by Sh Tahir Shamsi.
The event was attended by various dignitaries, including Justice Rahul Bhartti, Justice Vinod Chatterjee Koul, Retd Justice ML Manhas, Arvind Jasrotia, Prakash Antahal, and Vijay Saigal, among others. (ANI)