M Sribharat, the president of GITAM University and co-brother of TDP National General Secretary Nara Lokesh on Tuesday filed his nomination papers.
He is contesting as an MP candidate from the TDP alliance for the Visakhapatnam Lok Sabha constituency.
Sribharat lost the 2019 elections by 4,400 votes in a triangle fight by a slender margin mainly due to cross-voting for Janasena candidate JD Lakshmi Narayana.
On Monday, accompanied by a massive rally of supporters of TDP, JSP and BJP from his party office in Visakhapatnam, Sribharat reached the Visakhapatnam collector’s office and filed the nomination with his wife and son, along with other TDP MLA candidates.

Sribharat said that the rally organised on the occasion of the nomination received an unprecedented response from the people.

Speaking to the media after the nomination programme, Sribharat said, “The YCP government, which mortgaged thousands of crores of assets in Visakhapatnam, has spent nothing on the development of Visakhapatnam. Once the alliance government comes to power, we will work for the development of the city with specific plans. Keeping in mind of future Visakhapatnam, Godavari water will be brought from Polavaram for drinking and industrial needs.”

Meanwhile, Nara Lokesh has been campaigning extensively for the TDP. On Monday he participated in programs organized in Penumuli, Chiluvuru and Tummapudi villages of Duggirala Mandal of Mangalagiri Constituency.
Speaking at the rally he assured the people that special attention will be given to the creation of infrastructure in the villages.
“We will provide safe drinking water through underground drainage and tap. I have promised to build 20,000 houses for the poor in Mangalagiri constituency and give clothes to those living in government places and provide more houses. I also had a meeting with representatives and workers of Continental Coffee Industry in Manchikalapudi. As soon as the public government is formed, I have promised to bring a better policy and support the industries and workers” Lokesh said.
Andhra Pradesh has 25 Lok Sabha seats. The Assembly and Lok Sabha elections in Andhra Pradesh will be simultaneously held on May 13.
In the 2019 Assembly elections, the YSRCP won with a thumping majority of 151 seats, while the TDP was confined to 23 seats. In the Lok Sabha polls, the YSRCP won 22 seats, while the TDP could only win three seats. (ANI)