Ahead of filing his nomination from Bihar’s Begusarai seat, Union Minister Giriraj Singh said on Friday that the NDA is contesting all 40 seats, and all of them will go to Prime Minister Modi.
“NDA is contesting on all 40 seats, that means Narendra Modi is contesting on all 40 seats, all these seats will go to PM Modi,” he said.
Further, lashing out at RJD leader Tejashwi Yadav over making derogatory remarks on LJP chief Chirag Paswan, Giriraj Singh said that people’s vote will end the RJD chief’s arrogance.
“Chirag Paswan is a Dalit, Ramvilas Paswan is a Dalit, Tejashwi Yadav is abusing Chirag out of his arrogance. People’s vote will end his arrogance,” he said.
Begusarai Lok Sabha constituency is one of the 40 parliamentary constituencies in Bihar.
In the 2019 elections, Giriraj Singh secured a comfortable victory, defeating CPI leader Kanhaiya Kumar (now a Congress leader).
Awadhesh Kumar Rai will be contesting against BJP’s Giriraj Singh as an INDIA bloc’s candidate.
Bihar will witness polling for 40 Lok Sabha seats across all seven phases.
In Phase 1, voting on four seats- Jamui, Nawada, Gaya, and Aurangabad is underway.
The state will witness polling on five seats from Phase 2 to Phase 5. In Phases 6 and 7, elections will be held for eight seats each.
In the 2019 Lok Sabha elections, the NDA, composed of the BJP, JD(U) (Janata Dal-United), and LJP (Lok Janshakti Party), secured victory by winning 39 out of 40 seats.
The BJP won 17 seats with a vote share of 24.1 per cent, while JD(U) secured victory on 16 seats with a vote share of 22.3 per cent. LJP had won six seats with a vote share of 8 per cent.
While the Mahagathbandhan, led by RJD Rashtriya Janata Dal), INC (Indian National Congress), and RLSP (Radhtriya Lok Samta Party), only managed to win one seat. (ANI)