Yashwant Sinha, the opposition candidate for the presidential election, has filed his nomination.

Many opposition leaders including Congress leader Rahul Gandhi and NCP leader Sharad Pawar were present on the occasion. Apart from these, Samajwadi Party leader Akhilesh Yadav, CPM general secretary Sitaram Yechury and TMC’s Sudheendra Kulkarni were also present.

Yashwant Sinha will challenge Draupadi Murmu, fielded by the ruling NDA alliance. Although Draupadi Murmu’s victory is believed to be largely certain.

The reason for this is that the NDA is a little far from the majority figure, while parties like YSR Congress, Biju Janata Dal have declared their support. In such a situation, the victory of Murmu is considered certain.