Parliament monsoon session: Naidu rejects no-confidence motion against Harivansh


Rajya Sabha chairman M Venkaiah Naidu on Monday rejected the no-confidence motion of Opposition MPs against deputy chairman Harivansh. The chairperson said the motion is non-admissible under Article 90 of the Constitution.

On Sunday, as many as 100 members from 12 opposition parties moved a no-confidence motion against the deputy chairperson soon after the House passed two key bills aimed at ushering in agricultural reforms.

Harivansh was re-elected as the deputy chairperson on September 14, when the House convened after a six months break following the corona pandemic.

The signatories to the motion include d MPs from the Congress, DMK, TRS, TMC, JDS RJD, SP, CPI, CPM, AAP and the NCP.

Copyright © 2020 India Maximum. All rights reserved.