BJP National President JP Nadda has announced that Draupadi Murmu has been made the Presidential candidate from the NDA side.

Earlier, a meeting of the BJP Parliamentary Board was held at the party headquarters to brainstorm on the name of the Presidential candidate. Prime Minister Narendra Modi, BJP President JP Nadda, Union Home Minister Amit Shah, Defense Minister Rajnath Singh, Union Road Transport Minister Nitin Gadkari and Madhya Pradesh Chief Minister Shivraj Singh Chouhan and other members of the Parliamentary Board were present in the meeting.

Former Union Minister Yashwant Sinha has been fielded as a joint candidate by the opposition parties for the presidential election. The term of the current President Ram Nath Kovind ends on July 24. After the announcement of Sinha’s name as the opposition candidate, voting for the next President’s election is now being held on July 18. The process of filling nomination papers for the Presidential election is underway. June 29 is the last date for filing nominations.

It is worth noting that the BJP-led NDA is in a strong position on the basis of numbers in the presidential election and if it gets the support of parties like BJD or the ruling YSR Congress in Andhra Pradesh then its victory will be certain.